Nominations open for 2013 Australian Human Rights Awards

“The Australian Human Rights Awards are a unique opportunity to celebrate the work of individuals and organisations who contribute to human rights in Australia,” said Australian Human Rights Commission president, Gillian Triggs.
“Ian Thorpe won the Human Rights Medal last year in recognition of his passionate advocacy over more than a decade for Indigenous people and young Australians.
“21-year-old Krista McMeeken won the Young People’s Human Rights Medal for her outstanding work with the WA Aboriginal Legal Service and the Child Rights Taskforce,” Professor Triggs said.
Ian Thorpe is a guest speaker at this year’s awards, which will be a cocktail event at the Museum of Contemporary Art in Sydney, 10 December 2013, from 5.30pm to 7.30pm.
There are 10 award categories open for nominations. These include:
• The Human Rights Medal
• The Young People’s Human Rights Medal
• The Business Award
• The Literature Award
• The Print and Online Media Award, the Radio Award, the Television Award
• The Community Organisation Award, and
• The Law Award
Nominations close on 13 September 2013.
Full details and nomination forms are online at

Media contact: Dominic O’Grady (02) 9284 9861 or 0419 258 597.