Andrew Byrnes

Andrew Byrnes is the Chair of the Steering Committee for the Australian Human Rights Centre and he joined the UNSW Law Faculty as Professor of International Law in May 2005. For the AHRCentre, Andrew co-directs projects on disability and human rights, Peoples' Tribunals, and national human rights institutions and the Asia-Pacific forum.

Andrea Durbach

Andrea Durbach is the Director of the Australian Human Rights Centre and a Professor of Law at UNSW. Andrea was the Deputy Sex Discrimination Officer for the Australian Human Rights Commission in 2011 and 2012. Born and educated in South Africa, she practised as a political trial lawyer and human rights advocate, representing victims and opponents of apartheid laws.

Justine Nolan

Justine Nolan is the Deputy Director of the Australian Human Rights Centre and an Associate Professor in the Faculty of Law at UNSW Australia. Justine's research interests are focused on international human rights law and corporate responsibility and in particular accountability for corporate violations of human rights.

Bassina Farbenblum

Bassina Farbenblum directs UNSW's Human Rights Clinic, in which students gain practical lawyering experience in human rights advocacy, law reform and litigation in domestic, regional and international settings. She also leads the migrant and refugee rights project, which engages in research and law reform initiatives to advance the human rights of refugees and migrants in Asia and Australia.

Beth Goldblatt

Dr Beth Goldblatt is an Associate Professor in the Faculty of Law at the University of Technology Sydney and is a Visiting Fellow of the Australian Human Rights Centre where she is an Editor of the Human Rights Defender.

Christopher Michaelsen

Christopher Michaelsen is an Associate Professor at the Faculty of Law, UNSW Australia, and directs several research projects in the fields of international law, human rights and security. Prior to joining UNSW, he served as a Human Rights Officer (Anti-Terrorism) at the Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR) of the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe (OSCE) in Warsaw, Poland.

Daniel Joyce

Dr Daniel Joyce is a Lecturer in the Faculty of Law at the University of NSW. He is the project director for the new media and human rights project for the AHRCentre. He is admitted and practises as a barrister in New South Wales. Daniel is the Editor-in-Chief for the HRD.

Diane Macdonald

Diane Macdonald is the Centre Manager for the AHRCentre, and is the first point of contact for all enquiries regarding the Centre. With years of experience in publishing and financial management, Diane manages the Centre's events and seminars, and designs the Centre's publications and website.

Gabrielle Simm

Dr Gabrielle Simm co-directs the project on Peoples' tribunals and international law with Andrew Byrnes. She is currently a AHRCentre Visiting Fellow from UTS Faculty of Law. She has taught law at the Australian National University and the University of British Columbia. Prior to commencing her PhD, she worked as an international lawyer in the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade and the Attorney-General’s Department in Canberra. She has also worked as a refugee lawyer in Melbourne at Victoria Legal Aid and in a voluntary capacity at the Refugee & Immigration Legal Service.

Jed Horner

Jed Horner leads the project on Health, sexual orientation and human rights and has recently completed his PhD in public health and community medicine at UNSW. Previously, he worked as Policy Officer for the NSW Gay and Lesbian Rights lobby and as an external advisor to the New Zealand Human Rights Commission (Children’s Human Rights Sector Advisory Group for the first National Action Plan for Human Rights).

Kirsten Keith

Kirsten Keith co-directs the Strengthening Australian university responses to sexual assault and harassment project with Andrea Durbach.  Her background is in international criminal law, having worked at the Special Court for Sierra Leone, the Bosnian State Court, the ICTR and the ICTY. She is a member of the International Humanitarian Law Committee of the NSW Red Cross.

Lucas Lixinski

Lucas Lixinski directs the project on cultural heritage and human rights. Lucas was a Postgraduate Fellow at the Bernard and Audre Rapoport Center for Human Rights and Justice, University of Texas at Austin School of Law. Lucas holds a PhD in Law from the European University Institute, where he wrote a thesis on the protection of intangible cultural heritage in international law.

Pichamon Yeophantong

Dr Pichamon May Yeophantong is Lecturer (Asst Prof) in International Relations and Development in the School of Social Sciences, FASS and leads the Centre's Environmental Justice and Human Rights in Developing Asia project.

Rosemary Kayess

Rosemary Kayess is a Visiting Fellow at UNSW Law and co-directs the disability and human rights project with Andrew Byrnes. Rosemary’s educational background includes: Bachelor of Laws, UNSW, Bachelor of Social Science (Honours), UNSW, Associate Dip. Community Organisations, UTS. Her areas of expertise are: International law, Human rights law (disability), and Discrimination law.

Sarah Williams

Dr Sarah Williams is an Associate Professor at the University of New South Wales. Sarah was the Dorset Fellow in Public International Law at the British Institute of International and Comparative Law, a Senior Legal Researcher at the UK Foreign and Commonwealth Office and a Lecturer at Durham Law School, University of Durham.

Vicki Sentas

Dr Vicki Sentas is a project director on Human rights, international law and security. She researches processes of criminalisation and racialisation in law and policing. Her recent and current projects examine the effects of counter-terrorism practices, migration controls and multiculturalism policies on criminal justice in Australia, the UK and the EU.